In Progress

Posted: July 29, 2011 in Aging, Poetry

 

There ain’t no denyin’

My ears are gettin’ bigger and my nose is gettin’ larger

While my eyes are glowin’ dimmer my eyebrows are growin’ longer

My legs are movin’ slower and now weary’s become default

The fat that I’m a storin’ is gettin’ harder to burn off

 

Yes, things are a changin’, but not in my favor

Yes, time keeps a movin’ and it ain’t slowin’ down

 

My hair is grayin’ and soon’ll be fallin’ out

Black and white there ain’t no more, the walls ‘ve come tumblin’ down

My former accolades have been consumed and are forgot

Though my constant achin’ bones keep company with a fire

 

No I ain’t a cryin’

‘Cause I’m listenin’ more often with these increasin’ ears o’ mine

My vision’s gettin’ clearer and my patience stretched as well

My hands are ever active bringin’ life from once dead soil, and

The forgiveness I’d been storin’ is gettin’ harder to keep in stock

 

Yes, things are a changin’, I’m thinking for the good

Yes, time keeps a movin’, but life has just begun

 

 

Leave a Reply

